My Every Day Ingredients List

This is a full list of everything I cook with and some tips on deals. Obviously this list is tailored to my needs but I will put substitutions and other items at the bottom.

 

I also cannot used any canned goods due to additives and also have to avoid herbs, seasonings, and most condiments (I make my own). If you don’t need to avoid those items, cool. Use them.

 

And I go organic due to pesticide issues.

 

  1. Turkey – fresh and ground, organic, no additives. Butterbal and Huneysuckle brands both add garlic, rosemary and preservatives to their turkeys, so I use Kirkwood brand ground turkey from Aldi’s, and actual turkey cutups from the meat department at Ingles in my recipes. If you can tolerate the additives, good for you, feel free to use other sources.
  2. Chicken – Tyson’s adds all sorts of things to their chicken so I avoid it. Again I go organic or purchase cut-ups at Ingles.
  3. Salmon – I buy wild caught, and yes, I know about the radiation fears but of my five proteins three are fish and I cannot cut them from my diet. That said I go with wild rather than farm raised as farms add various medicinal chemicals, antifungals, and hormones to their tanks.
  4. Tuna – I use sashimi grade even if I am going to cook it.
  5. Catfish – I prefer fresh but will resort to frozen in a pinch. I have to go organic to avoid sulfites.
  6. Shrimp – Same deal as the catfish
  7. Soy – Endame beans or tofu, flour or oil. I am NOT allergic to soy. If you are, then avoid it. This is common sense.
  8. Eggs – I use brown organic eggs but will occasionally cheat like when I am making my various “breads” and want a smoother texture. Then I use organic egg whites.
  9. Potato, russet or white only. I am allergic to red or yellow, but if you are not go ahead and use them. I also use potato flour.
  10. Sweet Potato
  11. Tomato
  12. Apples
  13. Coconut – meat, cream, oil, sugar
  14. Honey Dew Melon
  15. Peas
  16. Green beans
  17. Kidney Beans
  18. Carrots
  19. Banana
  20. Peanut -oil,nut
  21. Almond -oil,nut,flour
  22. Avocado
  23. Rice

SUBSTITUTES FOR THOSE THAT CAN:

Peanut, almond, or olive oils. Canola and vegetable oil should be avoided.

Honey, agave, Stevia, coconut sugars. Artificial sweeteners are ALWAYS bad.

TIPS:

Amazon.com and Bob’s Red Mill see organic versions of the alternate oils and flours in bulk as well as organic fruits and nuts for those that can eat them.

Nutsnbulk is a great website for organic nuts and nut butters.

 

And Tropical Traditions has the best deals on organic coconut, coconut cream, and coconut oils.

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Every Day Ingredients List

Leave a Reply

